Spinal Stenosis Classifications

Lumbar Spinal Stenosis is classified as follows:2

    • Congenital-developmental stenosis
    • Idiopathic (hereditary)
    • Achondroplastic
    • Acquired stenosis
    • Degenerative
    • Combined congenital and degenerative stenosis
    • Sponylolytic/spondylolisthetic
    • Iatrogenic
    • Post laminectomy
    • Post fusion
  • Post chemonucleolysis
  • Posttraumatic
  • Metabolic
  • Paget’s disease
  • Fluorosis

* Modified from Arnoldi CG, Brodsky AE, Cauchoix J, et al; Clin Orthop 1976; 115-4-5.

Types of Spinal Stenosis

Of the four common types of spinal stenosis, spinal stenosis usually occurs in the lumbar and cervical regions of the spine and is very rarely ever found in the thoracic region: