Les traitements d'acupuncture pour la sténose spinale

Sciatica
Beaucoup trouvent le succès Traiter la sténose spinale
Douleur avec l'acupuncture

Malheureusement, beaucoup se tournent vers l'acupuncture comme un dernier recours pour traitement de la sténose spinale lorsque toutes les autres options ont été épuisées, procéder à l'évaluation des avantages de la thérapie difficile dans la plupart des cas. Cependant, des recherches ont été menées ces dernières années montrent que des modifications de la pression artérielle et le flux sanguin peut se produire avec un traitement d'acupuncture conduisant à des réponses cliniquement significatives avec celles sténose du canal rachidien lombaire (Inoue, et al, 2005). Sciatique flux sanguin nerveux semble être affectée par l'acupuncture, avec une étude animale (Inoue, et al, 2005) trouver que la stimulation du nerf honteux et stimulation du nerf sciatique par l'électro ont augmenté sciatique flux sanguin du nerf par 100% dans les deux cas,, par rapport à un 56.9% augmenter dans les modèles en cours de stimulation musculaire lombaire. Inoue de 2005 étude a observé des altérations de vasodilatateur et vasoconstricteur nerf activité qui ont affecté l'expérience de la claudication intermittente chez les sujets atteints du syndrome de la queue de cheval.




Une autre preuve de l'effet de l'acupuncture sur la douleur dorsale a été constaté par Inoue (et al, 2008) lorsque l'on tente d'isoler les zones cibles pour le traitement de la sténose lombaire. Des réductions considérables des douleurs des membres inférieurs a été trouvé chez les patients subissant nerf pudendal électro, la distance de marche global est amélioré, et la lombalgie a également diminué chez ces patients. Les auteurs de cette étude ont conclu que ce nerf particulier était considérablement plus efficace pour traiter les membres inférieurs et le bas du dos douleur et radiculopathie dans la sténose spinale de traitement d'acupuncture classique.

L'acupuncture peut aider à réduire votre douleur médicaments

Dans de nombreux patients atteints de sténose du canal rachidien la condition est due à une dégénérescence progressive des tissus et des structures de la colonne vertébrale, plutôt que tout traumatisme aigu. Beaucoup de ces patients auront d'autres maladies ou pathologies et un recours aux médicaments de la douleur peut augmenter leurs chances d'une réaction indésirable à un médicament. Le problème de la polymédication chez les personnes âgées est une augmentation d'un, avec de nombreuses interventions ont tenté de réduire le nombre de médicaments que de nombreux patients finissent par se prendre sur une base quotidienne. Malheureusement, bon nombre de ces stratégies ne parviennent pas à quitter les patients vulnérables, et dépendants, leurs nombreux médicaments.

Une étude de cas par Tu (et al, 2009) regardé une vieille dame 87yr avec la polymédication et une histoire de l'arthrose et la sténose du canal rachidien. Après de nombreuses hospitalisations et de longues listes de médicaments contre la douleur prescrits la dame a subi un traitement d'acupuncture dans une clinique intégrée en utilisant la médecine orientale et occidentale en tandem. Avec l'acupuncture, thérapie point de déclenchement, et de l'éducation sur l'auto-acupression, la douleur du patient dissipée, elle a progressivement réduit ses médicaments contre la douleur jusqu'à ce qu'elle devienne libre analgésique et a considérablement amélioré la qualité de vie. Il suffit d'accepter que la douleur et les douleurs articulaires en arrière est inévitable que nous vieillissons est inutile et tout médecin qui suggère que les tentatives pour diminuer la douleur et améliorer les normes de la vie quotidienne sont futiles est pas offrir les meilleurs soins aux patients qu'ils peuvent.

Acupuncture – Un traitement sténose spinale plus en plus courante

Dans un 2010 étude de patients souffrant de sténose du canal rachidien lombaire, et les physiothérapeutes de les traiter, les traitements les plus fréquemment préconisées inclus stratégies de thérapie physiques telles que la souplesse (87%), stabilisation (86%) et des exercices de renforcement (83%), suivie par la chaleur / glace (76%), acupuncture (63%) et la mobilisation conjointe (62%) (Tomkins, et al, 2010). Malheureusement, une évaluation des avantages relatifs des traitements a été au-delà de la portée de cette étude. L'examen d'un certain nombre d'études qui cherchent dans l'acupuncture pour les douleurs lombaires non spécifiques constaté que l'acupuncture est plus efficace à soulager la douleur de l'absence de traitement, mais qu'il n'a pas varié en importance d'un traitement d'acupuncture factice (Yuan, et al, 2008); ces résultats peuvent refléter le fait que la condition était non spécifique lombalgie plutôt qu'une pathologie isolée ou être ciblé comme la sténose spinale à un seul niveau. Une étude portant sur 132 patients avant la chirurgie de hernie discale lombaire que l'acupuncture classique soulagé la douleur de manière significative par rapport à l'acupuncture simulée et que l'effet a duré plus longtemps avec le traitement ciblé (Wang, et al, 2000).

Fonctionne-t-acupuncture pour le traitement de la sténose spinale?

Acupressure Mat
Tapis d'acupression sont un type de Self Acupuncture

Les études sur l'acupuncture pour la sténose spinale sont en grande partie de la mauvaise qualité méthodologique et offrent peu en termes de preuves tangibles pour appuyer fortement son utilisation. Cependant, il ya une abondance de preuves de qualité inférieure montrant l'acupuncture est plus efficace que l'absence de traitement pour réduire les symptômes de la douleur de la sténose spinale. Comme le traitement a considérablement les effets secondaires de moins que de nombreux médicaments contre la douleur pharmaceutiques et est moins invasive que chirurgie de la sténose spinale son utilisation comme thérapie de la douleur est indiquée. Traitements semblent indiquer une douleur mesures d'allégement immédiat et à court terme avec des résultats généralement pas observées au cours des semaines suivantes et la nécessité de poursuivre les sessions de garder la douleur à distance (Furlan, et al, 2005). Un tapis d'acupression peut fournir un traitement approprié entre-deux rendez-vous.

Que faire ensuite

Les patients sont invités à savoir si elles peuvent obtenir un traitement d'acupuncture par leur médecin et de trouver un acupuncteur enregistré et certifié si la poursuite de la thérapie privée. The needles used in acupuncture are usually disposable, single-use needles, removing the need for hygiene concerns; if you have any doubts over a particular clinic or practitioner then you should report them to the relevant authority in order to keep the treatment safe for all. Acupuncture can help relieve pain by directly affecting pain signalling and by helping you to relax, lower your blood pressure, and reduce the symptoms of conditions such as depression, fibromyalgie, and chronic pain.




Références

Inoue M, Hojo T, Yano T, Katsumi Y., (2005), Effects of lumbar acupuncture stimulation on blood flow to the sciatic nerve trunk–an exploratory study, Acupunct Med. 2005 Décembre;23(4):166-70.

Inoue M, Hojo T, Nakajima M, Kitakoji H, Itoi M, Katsumi Y., (2008), Pudendal nerve electroacupuncture for lumbar spinal canal stenosis – a case series, Acupunct Med. 2008 Sep;26(3):140-4.

Inoue M, Kitakoji H, Yano T, Ishizaki N, Itoi M, Katsumi Y., (2008), Acupuncture Treatment for Low Back Pain and Lower Limb Symptoms-The Relation between Acupuncture or Electroacupuncture Stimulation and Sciatic Nerve Blood Flow, Evid Based Complement Alternat Med. 2008 Jun;5(2):133-43.

Tu B, Johnston M, Hui KK., (2009), Elderly patient refractory to multiple pain medications successfully treated with integrative East-West medicine, Int J Gen Med. 2009 Nov 30;1:3-6.

Tomkins CC, Dimoff KH, Forman HS, Gordon ES, McPhail J, Wong JR, Battié MC., (2010), Physical therapy treatment options for lumbar spinal stenosis, J Back Musculoskelet Rehabil. 2010;23(1):31-7.

Yuan J, Purepong N, Kerr DP, Park J, Bradbury I, McDonough S., (2008), Effectiveness of acupuncture for low back pain: a systematic review, Spine (Phila Pa 1976). 2008 Nov 1;33(23):E887-900.

Furlan AD, van Tulder M, Cherkin D, Tsukayama H, Lao L, Koes B, Berman B., (2005), Acupuncture and dry-needling for low back pain: an updated systematic review within the framework of the cochrane collaboration, Spine (Phila Pa 1976). 2005 Avril 15;30(8):944-63.

Wang RR, Tronnier V., (2000), Effect of acupuncture on pain management in patients before and after lumbar disc protrusion surgery–a randomized control study, Am J Chin Med. 2000;28(1):25-33.

Acupuncture Treatment for Spinal Stenosis

Many find Success Treating Spinal Stenosis
Pain with Acupuncture

Unfortunately, many turn to acupuncture as a last resort for spinal stenosis treatment when all other options have been exhausted, making the assessment of the therapy’s benefits difficult in most circumstances. However, some research has been conducted in recent years showing that alterations in blood pressure and blood flow can occur with acupuncture treatment leading to clinically significant responses in those with lumbar spinal stenosis (Inoue, et al, 2005). Sciatic nerve blood flow appears to be affected by acupuncture, with an animal study (Inoue, et al, 2005) finding that pudendal nerve stimulation and sciatic nerve stimulation through electroacupuncture increased sciatic nerve blood flow by 100% in both cases, compared to a 56.9% increase in those models undergoing lumbar muscle stimulation. Inoue’s 2005 study observed alterations in vasodilator and vasoconstrictor nerve activity which affected the experience of intermittent claudication in those subjects with cauda equina syndrome.

Further evidence of acupuncture’s effect on back pain was found by Inoue (et al, 2008) when attempting to isolate target areas for treatment of lumbar spinal stenosis. Considerable reductions in lower limb pain was found in those patients undergoing pudendal nerve electroacupuncture, overall walking distance was improved, and low back pain also decreased in these patients. The authors of this study concluded that this particular nerve was considerably more effective at treating lower limb and lower back pain and radiculopathy in spinal stenosis than conventional acupuncture treatment.

Acupuncture Can Help Reduce Your Pain Medication

In many patients with spinal stenosis the condition is due to a progressive degeneration of the tissues and structures of the spine rather than any acute trauma. Many of these patients will have other illnesses or pathologies and a reliance on pain medication can increase their chances of an adverse drug reaction. The problem of polypharmacy in the elderly is an increasing one, with numerous interventions attempted to reduce the number of medications that many patients end up taking on a daily basis. Unfortunately, many of these strategies fail leaving patients vulnerable to, and reliant on, their many medications.

A case study by Tu (et al, 2009) looked at an 87yr old lady with polypharmacy and a history of osteoarthritis and spinal stenosis. After numerous hospitalizations and long lists of pain medication prescribed the lady underwent acupuncture treatment at an integrative clinic using Eastern and Western medicine in tandem. With acupuncture, trigger point therapy, and education on self-acupressure, the patient’s pain dissipated, she gradually reduced her pain medications until she became analgesic-free and had significantly improved quality of life. Simply accepting that back pain and joint pain is inevitable as we age is unhelpful and any doctor suggesting that attempts to lessen the pain and improve daily living standards are futile is not providing the best patient care that they can.

Acupuncture – An Increasingly Common Spinal Stenosis Treatment

In a 2010 study of patients suffering from lumbar spinal stenosis, and physical therapists treating them, the most frequently advocated treatments included physical therapy strategies such as flexibility (87%), stabilization (86%) and strengthening exercises (83%), followed by heat/ice (76%), acupuncture (63%) and joint mobilization (62%) (Tomkins, et al, 2010). Unfortunately, an assessment of the relative benefits of the treatments was beyond the scope of this study. A review of a number of studies looking into acupuncture for non-specific low back pain found that acupuncture was more effective at relieving pain than no treatment but that it did not vary in significance from sham acupuncture treatment (Yuan, et al, 2008); these results may reflect the fact that the condition was non-specific low back pain rather than an isolated or targetable pathology such as spinal stenosis at a single level. A study looking at 132 patients prior to lumbar disc protrusion surgery found that classic acupuncture relieved pain significantly in comparison to sham acupuncture and that the effect lasted longer with the targeted treatment (Wang, et al, 2000).

Does Acupuncture work for Treating Spinal Stenosis?

Acupressure Mat
Acupressure Mats are a type of Self Acupuncture

Studies into acupuncture for spinal stenosis are largely of poor methodological quality and offer little in terms of hard evidence to strongly support its use. However, there is a wealth of lower quality evidence showing acupuncture to be more effective than no treatment for reducing the pain symptoms of spinal stenosis. As the treatment has considerably fewer side-effects than many pharmaceutical pain medications and is less invasive than spinal stenosis surgery its use as a pain management therapy is indicated. Treatments appear to convey an immediate and short-term pain relieving action with results not usually observed over subsequent weeks and the necessity for further sessions to keep pain at bay (Furlan, et al, 2005). An acupressure mat may provide a suitable treatment in-between appointments.

What to do next

Patients are advised to find out if they can obtain acupuncture treatment through their doctor and to find a registered and certified acupuncturist if pursuing the therapy privately. The needles used in acupuncture are usually disposable, single-use needles, removing the need for hygiene concerns; if you have any doubts over a particular clinic or practitioner then you should report them to the relevant authority in order to keep the treatment safe for all. Acupuncture can help relieve pain by directly affecting pain signalling and by helping you to relax, lower your blood pressure, and reduce the symptoms of conditions such as depression, fibromyalgia, and chronic pain.


Inoue M, Hojo T, Yano T, Katsumi Y., (2005), Effects of lumbar acupuncture stimulation on blood flow to the sciatic nerve trunk–an exploratory study, Acupunct Med. 2005 Dec;23(4):166-70.

Inoue M, Hojo T, Nakajima M, Kitakoji H, Itoi M, Katsumi Y., (2008), Pudendal nerve electroacupuncture for lumbar spinal canal stenosis – a case series, Acupunct Med. 2008 Sep;26(3):140-4.

Inoue M, Kitakoji H, Yano T, Ishizaki N, Itoi M, Katsumi Y., (2008), Acupuncture Treatment for Low Back Pain and Lower Limb Symptoms-The Relation between Acupuncture or Electroacupuncture Stimulation and Sciatic Nerve Blood Flow, Evid Based Complement Alternat Med. 2008 Jun;5(2):133-43.

Tu B, Johnston M, Hui KK., (2009), Elderly patient refractory to multiple pain medications successfully treated with integrative East-West medicine, Int J Gen Med. 2009 Nov 30;1:3-6.

Tomkins CC, Dimoff KH, Forman HS, Gordon ES, McPhail J, Wong JR, Battié MC., (2010), Physical therapy treatment options for lumbar spinal stenosis, J Back Musculoskelet Rehabil. 2010;23(1):31-7.

Yuan J, Purepong N, Kerr DP, Park J, Bradbury I, McDonough S., (2008), Effectiveness of acupuncture for low back pain: a systematic review, Spine (Phila Pa 1976). 2008 Nov 1;33(23):E887-900.

Furlan AD, van Tulder M, Cherkin D, Tsukayama H, Lao L, Koes B, Berman B., (2005), Acupuncture and dry-needling for low back pain: an updated systematic review within the framework of the cochrane collaboration, Spine (Phila Pa 1976). 2005 Apr 15;30(8):944-63.

Wang RR, Tronnier V., (2000), Effect of acupuncture on pain management in patients before and after lumbar disc protrusion surgery–a randomized control study, Am J Chin Med. 2000;28(1):25-33.